cwd

The interactive map of Ceramic World Destinations

It is my pleasure to announce the launch of the website: Ceramic World Destinations. It has been a project three years in development and was created initially for you, the IAC member, to highlight and share our revered institutions.

But it was also intended for the general public, so that they may uncover the global and universal appeal of clay and learn about its history, variable forms, and how its ubiquitous footprint permeates virtually every culture in the world. 

Travel planners, collectors, historians, anthropologists and the seasoned traveler will find this vetted, exclusive, interactive database a valuable resource for inspiration, education and connection.

Judith Schwartz, IAC Vice President

My more than 30 years as an IAC member provided me with the opportunity to travel to multiple ceramic destinations where socialisation and shared interests provided the experiences, memories and most of all valuable friendships that have made this undertaking so significant for me.

This project would not have been possible without the support of so many of you who have shared your favorite destinations. Thank you for adding locations, not only close to home, but in far-off places as well. Since the site is a vibrant ongoing entity, I encourage you to continue to add to it using the form in the menu bar on the site.

 

I also wish to thank IAC collector member from the USA, Rick Rodgers, who generously provided the grant for the construction of the website. Our web designer William Resen Davidson was ingenious in creating programs and scripts to convert raw data to map locations. We were in constant touch working on a variety of images, flags, shapes and systems that would work across all digital platforms.

My special thanks go to the IAC Council who voted a hearty yes when I first proposed the idea, to the Executive Committee and Torbjørn Kvasbø for his encouragement, to administrator Charlyne Kolly who worked so assiduously to add CWD to the IAC website, and to the communications committee who planned the launch on social media.

 

Please spread the word among your contacts and on your social media accounts to make this an even bigger event for our academy. My intention is that CWD brings us closer together while, at the same time, bringing the IAC to the world. 

So now, during this time of restricted travel, the literally thousands of destinations on the site have become an alternative means for “travel,” opening up new opportunities for planning and future visits. I am sure you will be, as I have been, inspired by venues that are to be found in this valuable resource.

Destinations include museums, galleries, stores, manufacturers, local events, institutions, cultural sites and other ceramic-oriented venues. Also included are artist residency programs and artist studios open to the public. Now, no ceramics destination is ever more than a few clicks away.

Judith Schwartz, PhD, IAC Vice President

 

Ceramic World Destinations has been created to reveal the universal appeal of clay. At a time of restricted travel, the thousands of destinations listed on this interactive website provide an alternative means for visiting the diversity of venues for those seeking the broadest possible exposure to this timeless material. 

The website is simple to navigate. Upon opening, a map of the world is presented. One then simply focuses on a specific geographic region and is presented with flags indicating relevant websites. No destination is ever more than a click away.

 

Destinations include museums, galleries, design stores, manufacturers, local events, institutions, cultural sites and other ceramic-oriented venues. Also included are artist residency programs and artist studios open to the public.

Ceramic World Destinations is sponsored and maintained by the International Academy of Ceramics and has been a collaborative effort by its members. 

You may contribute suggestions for the inclusion of overlooked ceramic destinations by going to this link: https://www.tinyurl.com/iaccwd

cwd

La carte interactive de Ceramic World Destinations

J’ai le plaisir de vous annoncer le lancement du site internet Ceramic World Destinations. Depuis trois ans, nous développons ce projet pour vous, membres de l’AIC, afin de mettre en avant et de partager les institutions que nous admirons.

Ce projet est également destiné à faire découvrir au grand public l’attrait universel qui existe autour de l’argile, son histoire, ses formes variables, et comment son empreinte imprègne quasiment toutes les cultures du monde.

Pour les agents de voyage, les collectionneurs, les historiens, les anthropologistes et les voyageurs chevronnés, cette base de données interactive, exclusive et contrôlée sera une précieuse ressource éducative à partir de laquelle ils pourront également s’inspirer et créer des contacts.

Judith Schwartz, Vice Présidente de l’AIC

Mes trente années d’expérience en tant que membre de l’AIC m’ont permis de voyager vers de multiples destinations en lien avec la céramique, où mes rencontres et le partage d’intérêts communs m’ont permis d’acquérir de l’expérience, de créer des souvenirs et, surtout, d’entretenir de précieuses amitiés. Tout ceci a rendu ce projet si important à mes yeux.

Ce projet n’aurait pas été envisageable sans le soutien des nombreuses personnes qui ont partagé leurs destinations préférées. Merci d’avoir ajouté des lieux tout aussi bien proches que lointains. Le site internet étant une entité active et continue, je vous encourage à l’enrichir grâce au formulaire situé dans la barre de menu.

 

Je souhaite également remercier Rick Rodgers, membre collectionneur de l’AIC, qui a généreusement subventionné la construction du site internet. William Resen Davidson, notre web designer, a fait preuve d’ingéniosité en créant des programmes et des codes permettant de convertir les données brutes en emplacements sur une carte. Nous étions en contact permanent pour travailler sur une variété d’images, de drapeaux, de formes et de systèmes qui puissent fonctionner sur toutes les plateformes numériques.

Je remercie tout particulièrement le conseil de l’AIC, qui a chaleureusement voté en faveur de ce projet ; le comité exécutif de l’AIC ; Torbjørn Kvasbø, pour son soutien ; Charlyne Kolly, coordinatrice, qui a travaillé assidument à l’ajout de ce projet au site internet de l’AIC et dans le comité de communication, qui a organisé le lancement du projet sur les réseaux sociaux.

 

N’hésitez pas à partager le projet auprès de vos contacts ainsi que sur vos réseaux sociaux afin que cet événement soit encore plus bénéfique pour notre académie. Le but est que le projet Ceramic World Destinations nous rapproche davantage tout en faisant connaître l’AIC au monde entier.

En cette période de restriction des déplacements, les milliers de destinations partagées sur le site sont devenues une alternative au voyage, offrant de nouvelles possibilités de planifications et de visites futures. Je pense que vous serez, tout comme moi, inspirés par les lieux partagés sur cette précieuse ressource.

Les destinations comprennent des musées, des galeries, des boutiques, de la fabrication, des événements locaux, des institutions, des sites culturels et d’autres lieux axés sur la céramique. On y compte également des programmes de résidence d’artistes ainsi que des ateliers ouverts au public. Désormais, les destinations en lien avec la céramique ne sont plus qu’à quelques clics.

Dr. Judith Schwartz, Vice-présidente, AIC

 

Ceramic World Destinations a été créé pour révéler l’attrait universel qui existe autour de l’argile. En cette période de restriction des déplacements, les milliers de destinations partagées sur le site interactif offrent à ceux qui recherchent la plus large exposition possible de ce matériel intemporel, un moyen alternatif de visiter une diversité de lieux.

La navigation sur le site internet est très simple. Sur la page d’accueil est présentée une carte du monde, il suffit de se concentrer sur une zone géographique spécifique où des marqueurs indiquent les sites internet pertinents. Les destinations ne sont plus qu’à quelques clics.

 

Les destinations comprennent des musées, des galeries, des boutiques de design, des fabricants, des événements locaux, des institutions, des sites culturels et d’autres lieux axés sur la céramique. On y compte également des programmes de résidence d’artistes ainsi que des ateliers ouverts au public.

Ceramic World Destinations est parrainé et soutenu par l’Académie Internationale de la Céramique et résulte d’un effort collaboratif de ses membres.

Vous pouvez ajouter les destinations liées à la céramique qui auraient été omises sur le lien suivant : https://www.tinyurl.com/iaccwd