IAC Council

Congress 2018, New Taipei City. From left to right Janet DeBoos, Toshio Matsui, Guangzhen Zhou, Vilma Villaverde, Ilona Romule, David Jones, Suku Park, Monika Gass, Pim Sudhikam, Oriol Calvo Vergés, Wayne Higby, Stéphanie Le Follic-Hadida, Judith Schwartz, Torbjørn Kvasbø, Jacques Kaufmann.

The Council is composed of 15-18 members, including the representative to UNESCO, and the non-voting honorary and administrative positions. Members of the Council must be individual members. They are elected for a six-year term by the individual members of the Academy. The Council decides the functions of its members according to its needs. Membership of Council, as far as possible, corresponds to the various geographical regions represented in the Academy.

The new composition of the Council has been officially announced at the General Assembly in New Taipei City in October 2018 as well as the outcome of the online election of the Council Member, representative of Southeast Asia and India, the election of the new President and the nomination of the new Vice President. 

From left to right: Torbjørn Kvasbø, Jacques Kaufmann (handover to the new president Torbjørn Kvasbø)


President 2018 -2024
Torbjørn Kvasbø, Norway
Representative for Scandinavia

Vice President 2014 – 2020
Judith Schwartz, USA
Representative for USA and Canada

Vice President 2018 – 2024
Representative UNESCO
Stéphanie Le Follic-Hadida, France

President Emeritus 2018 – 2024
Jacques Kaufmann, France
Representative for France

Oriol Calvo Vergés, Spain, 2016 – 2022
Representative for Mediterranean countries

Council Members

Toshio Matsui, Japan, 2017 -2023
Representative for Japan

Suku Park, South Korea, 2012 – 2018 – 2020
Representative for South Korea

Janet DeBoos, Australia, 2012 – 2018 – 2020 
Representative for Australia,
New Zealand and South Africa

Ilona Romule, Latvia, 2016 – 2022
Representative for Eastern Europe

Guangzhen Zhou, China, 2014 – 2020
Representative for China

Monika Gass, Germany, 2016 – 2022
Representative for Germany

David Jones, UK, 2016 – 2022
Representative for UK, Ireland and the Benelux

Vilma Villaverde, Argentina, 2016 – 2022
Representative for Latin America

Pim Sudhikam, Thailand, 2018 – 2024
Representative for Southeast Asia and India

Coordination, secretariat
Charlyne Kolly, Suisse

Torbjørn Kvasbø, President 2018 – 2024


Wayne Higby, USA, Vice President Emeritus 2012 – 2018



General Assembly 2018, Composition of the Council:

New member:
Pim Sudhikam, Thailand, 2018 – 2024
Representative for Southeast Asia and India

Change of  position: 
– Torbjørn Kvasbø becomes President 
– Stéphanie Le Follic-Hadida becomes Vice President and maintains her position as UNESCO representative
– Jacques Kaufmann becomes President Emeritus

End of mandate: 
– Wayne Higby, USA, Vice President Emeritus
Vice President Emeritus 2012 – 2018
Vice President 2002 – 2012
Council Member 1998 –  2002
– Isabelle Naef Galuba, Switzerland, Representative for Switzerland 2012 – 2018


Pim Sudhikam

General Assembly 2016, Composition of the Council:

New member:
– Oriol Calvo Vergès, Spain, Treasure, Representative for Mediterranean countries 2016-2022
– Monika Gass, Germany, Representative for Germany, 2016 – 2022
– David Jones, UK, Representative for UK, Ireland and the Benelux 2016 – 2022
– Vilma Villaverde, Argentine, Representative for South America 2016 – 2022
– Ilona Romule, Latvia, 2016 – 2022
Representative for Eastern Europe

End of mandate: 
– Gustavo PÉREZ Vice-President  2014-2016
– Michael MOORE Treasurer,  2010-2016
– Tomoko Tanioka, Japan 
– Janos PROBSTNER, Hungary  2010-2016
– Emili SEMPERE, Spain 2010-2016
– Marianne HELLER, Germany  2010-2016


Monika Gass, Barcelona 2016


Vilma Villaverde, Barcelona 2016


Ilona Romule, Barcelona 2016


David Jones, Barcelona 2016


Oriol Calvo Vergès, Barcelona 2016








Congress Barcelona 2016, Spain. from l. to r. Emili Sempere, Jacques Kaufmann, Wayne Higby, Judith Schwartz, Isabelle Naef Galuba, Suku Park, Emili Sempere (Council member  2010 – 2016), Guangzhen Zhou, Torbjørn Kvasbø, Janet DeBoos, Vilma Villaverde, Monika Gass, Ilona Romule, David Jones, Oriol Calvos Vergés.




Presentation of new commissions

An institution like the IAC raises interesting issues. In order to respond effectively to these questions the Council has established various committees.

(read more...)

List of contacts

Please contact the secretariat to obtain the Council members contacts.