Treasure Bowl Collection

 

The Council of the International Academy of Ceramics is pleased to announce for acquisition “The Treasure Bowl Collection.” Developed from 2016 to 2018, this collection is unique in contemporary ceramics. Funds realized from the purchase of this collection will go to support the work of the IAC throughout the world.

The theme of the collection, “Native Clay”, was a natural choice. Curator Rheem has explained the theme in the following words, which are offered in more detail in her essay included in the accompanying catalogue for the collection: The meaning of ‘Native’ can no longer be limited to a geographical category. Native includes the unique characteristic of an individual formed by the environment, history and the culture of one’s homeland or specific place where he or she resides.

Through the fundamental act of shaping a bowl, the invited artists used their remarkable traditional and contemporary skills to express the concepts of native self and common values. For the ceramic artist, the bowl is an archetypal form. In all its variations, it is an iconic object symbolic of universal human consciousness and necessity. Its expressive potential as the voice of many cultures testifies to its great artistic value.

The Treasure Bowl Collection is the result of a rare collaboration of 10 international artists and curator Misun Rheem, all IAC members. Curator Misun Rheem celebrates the IAC philosophy, based on the sharing of knowledge and friendship.

Artworks in this first edition were made by: 

– Abbas Akbari (Iran)
– Philippe Barde (Switzerland)
– Janet DeBoos (Australia)
– Wayne Higby (United States)
– Kyung Jo Roe (South Korea)
– Toshio Ohi Chozaemon XI (Japan)
– Gustavo Pérez (Mexico)
– Ann Van Hoey (Belgium)
– Wen Yeh (Chinese Taipei)
– Fiona Lai Ching Wong (Hong Kong)

Bowl detail, Toshio Ohi Chozaemon XI (Japan)

 

 
This edition is made of 12 numbered sets, each composed of 10 bowls signed by the respective artists. A certificate attests to the authenticity of all artworks. The limitation to 12 sets and 10 artists makes this edition a unique achievement in the world of contemporary ceramics.

The collection could not have been possible without international philanthropy. The IAC therefore extends its utmost gratitude to the two patrons who agreed to support this project financially, even before the artworks existed. Their trust in the IAC and its members makes it an important step in the association history.

In addition to the initial support of those art benefactors, the Musée Ariana in Switzerland and the Alfred Ceramic Art Museum in the United States have each committed to acquiring 1 set of the Treasure Bowl Collection. A few sets are still available for acquisition for those wishing to help the International Academy of Ceramics continue to support the quality and diversity of ceramic art around the globe. Thank you for consideration. Become a patron of the IAC.

The acquisition price of each collection set starts at CHF 18,000.
Please contact the IAC Secretariat for further details, by email or by phone:
contacts@aic-iac.org
/ +41 22 418 54 76.


 

A public viewing of the Treasure Bowl Collection will take place in September 2018 at the Yingge Ceramics Museum, in New Taipei City, in the context of the IAC 2018 Congress.

 


Photo credits: Guillaume Mausset

 

SEE THE TBC CATALOGUE: 
(By clicking the first image below)

DOWNLOAD THE TBC CATALOGUE:
The content of this catalogue are protected by IAC copyright. 

>> Catalogue in pdf format

Treasure Bowl Collection

 

Le Conseil de l’Académie Internationale de la Céramique a le plaisir de présenter « Treasure Bowl Collection ». Développée de 2016 à 2018, cette collection est tout à fait unique dans la céramique contemporaine. Les fonds tirés de la vente de la collection ont vocation à soutenir les activités internationales de l’AIC.

 

Le thème de la collection, « Native Clay », s’est présenté comme une évidence. La curatrice s’est confiée sur sa vision du thème, dans un texte à lire plus en détail dans la publication qui accompagne la collection: pour elle, le sens du mot « Native » n’est plus assimilable à une simple catégorie géographique. Le terme inclut les spécificités propres à chaque individu, produites par l’environnement, l’histoire et la culture de sa terre natale ou du lieu spécifique où cette personne s’est installée.

À travers l’exercice fondamental du façonnage d’un bol, les artistes invité.e.s, fort.e.s de savoir-faire d’exception tant traditionnels que contemporains, se sont employé.e.s à l’expression du natif, du soi et des valeurs communes. Pour l’artiste céramiste, le bol est une forme archétypale. Dans ses variations multiples, c’est un objet iconique symbolisant l’universalité de la conscience et des nécessités humaines. Son potentiel expressif, voix de plusieurs cultures, témoigne de sa grande valeur artistique.

 

Treasure Bowl Collection est l’aboutissement d’une précieuse collaboration entre 10 artistes internationaux et la curatrice Misun Rheem, tou.te.s membres de l’Académie. Misun Rheem y célèbre la philosophie de l’AIC, fondée sur le partage des connaissances et la fraternité.

 

Les œuvres de cette première édition ont été réalisées par :  

  
– Abbas Akbari (Iran)
– Philippe Barde (Suisse)
– Janet DeBoos (Australie)
– Wayne Higby (États-Unis)
– Kyung Jo Roe (Corée du Sud)
– Toshio Ohi Chozaemon XI (Japon)
– Gustavo Pérez (Mexique)
– Ann Van Hoey (Belgique)
– Wen Yeh (Taipei chinois)
– Fiona Lai Ching Wong (Hong Kong)


Détail d’un bol: Toshio Ohi Chozaemon XI (Japon)

 

 
Cette édition est constituée de 12 sets numérotés de 1 à 12, composés chacun de 10 bols signés par les artistes. Un certificat garantit l’authenticité des pièces. La limitation à 12 sets et 10 artistes fait de cet ensemble une réalisation unique dans le monde de la céramique contemporaine.
 
Le projet n’aurait pu aboutir sans mécénat international. Ainsi, l’AIC adresse ses remerciements les plus sincères aux deux mécènes qui ont accepté d’apporter leur soutien financier à ce projet, avant même que les œuvres n’existent. Ce témoignage de confiance envers l’AIC et ses membres fonde un moment important de l’histoire de l’association.

Outre le soutien initial de ces mécènes, deux institutions de renommée internationale se sont proposées d’acquérir chacune un set: le Musée Ariana en Suisse et le Alfred Ceramic Art Museum, aux États-Unis. Quelques sets sont encore disponibles, à l’attention des personnes et institutions qui souhaitent soutenir la qualité et la diversité de l’art céramique dans le monde. Vous êtes sensibles à notre travail? Devenez mécène de l’AIC.

Le prix de départ de chaque set est fixé à CHF 18’000.
Pour tout renseignement complémentaire, veuillez contacter le Secrétariat de l’AIC, par email ou par téléphone : contacts@aic-iac.org/ +41 22 418 54 76.

 


 

Un vernissage public de « Treasure Bowl Collection » sera organisé en septembre 2018 au Yingge Ceramics Museum, à New Taipei City, dans le cadre du Congrès de l’AIC 2018.

 


Crédits photo: Guillaume Mausset
 

POUR CONSULTER LE CATALOGUE : 
(Cliquez sur la première image ci-dessous)

POUR TÉLÉCHARGER LE CATALOGUE : 
Tous droits de reproduction du contenu du catalogue TBC sont réservés à l’AIC. 

>> Cliquez sur ce lien